The History of the Valoyi Clan – N’wamitwa

Valoyi Traditional Authority is situated 30KM North East of the Tzaneen Town. The Valoyi Clan houses Xitsonga and Khilobedu Speaking among others.

Below is the history of the Valoyi Clan and it is divided into three periods.
• Central Africa (1499 – 1647)
• East Africa – Mozambique (1647 – 1820)
• Northern Transvaal, Limpopo (1820 – 2009)

CENTRAL AFRICA (1499 – 1647)

• The history of the Valoyi Clan can only be traced from 1499 when the Arabs invaded Central Africa to ply their trade. This group could not withstand this pressure of traders and decided to migrate to the East along the Zambezi and Limpopo rivers. Their rulers were many and among them were Nteha and Xitsavi. Nchangameri and Nxolwana and their children remained in the present Zimbabwe. These names of the great leaders are today engraved on the great marble plaques of the Zimbabwe ruins. The nest of the group reached Indian Ocean in the east and settled in Mozambique and named their new territory Vutsonga.

EAST AFRICA – MOZAMBIQUE (1647 – 1820) in Vutsonga in Mozambique

The history of Valoyi Clan in Mozambique during this period was documented by the Swiss Missionaries Dr A.A Jacques.

• In 1647, Xihlomulo was the ruler of the Valoyi Clan until 1785 when he was succeeded by his son Mbhekwana. This Clan enjoyed their stay in Mozambique until the Zulu impis from the South (Kwazulu-Natal) came up and attacked them. Soshangana and Manukosi were the two Zulu Chiefs/ Warriors who forced the second migration of the Valoyi Clan to the West (Northern Transvaal – Limpopo). Mbhekwana had his military leaders in the persons of N’wamitwa, Nwakhada, N’waxihuku, N’wavucenje, Mavokweni and Mivurhu. They moved Westwards until they reached the confluence of the Rivubye (Levubu) and the Vembe (Limpopo) rivers. To the North of this spot had settled the Clan named Vanwanati (Maluleke).


• The Valoyi Clan moved further to the West and settled at a place East of the present town of Tzaneen. Their settlements stretched from Tzaneen to the present farms termed Constantia. After the 1914 – 1981 World War I, these people were moved forcefully by the apartheid regime to the present settlement called N’wamitwa. N’wamitwa bought additional farms to settle his people at Nkambako, Runnymede, Meadowbank and N’wamungololo.

The Chiefs/ Rulers during this period a summarized below:

• 1820 – 1919 N’wamitwa
• 1919 – 1922 Mahwahwa
• 1922 – 1931 Mahlabezulu
• 1931 – 1948 Rufus (regent)
• 1948 – 1968 Fofoza
• 1968 – 2001 Richard (regent)
• 2002 – to date (T.L.P N’wamitwa II)

The appointment of Hosi T.L.P N’wamitwa II in 2002 was characterized by a struggle of succession to the throne. Customarily it was a taboo for a female to rule a clan. It was a prerogative of the male primogeniture. Court cases ensued and culminated at the Constitutional Court in 2008 where the Principles of Human Rights enshrined in the Constitution were observed and the rule of Democracy was fulfilled. She became the first woman of the Vatsonga Nation to become a ruler. A historic event indeed!

Please be advised that the article was sourced from NWAMITWA

Leave a Reply